Dustin Johnson Secures Second Vardon Trophy in Three Years

Dustin Johnson Backswing

For the second time in three years, Dustin Johnson has won the Vardon Trophy – awarded at the end of each PGA TOUR season to the player with the lowest scoring average. This award comes from the PGA of America and is named in honor of Harry Vardon, who was one of golf’s first international stars in the late 1800s to early 1900s. It is one of the oldest awarded trophies in golf, dating back to 1937.

This award has been won the most by Tiger Woods (nine) followed by Lee Trevino and Billy Casper, who have each won this award five times. Tiger Woods also holds the record for the lowest scoring average ever at 67.79. In 2018, Dustin earned his second Vardon Trophy with a scoring average of 68.70.

Dustin’s 2018 season scoring average was nearly a half stroke lower than the last time he won the Vardon Trophy (69.17 in 2016). He joins Jordan Spieth, Rory McIlroy, Nick Price, Fred Couples, Tom Kite, Bruce Crampton and Lloyd Mangrum as two-time recipients of the award.

Dustin’s award-winning season was fueled in part by rounds of 69, 68, 66 and 65 to win the Sentry Tournament of Champions, as well as low rounds of 64 at the Genesis Open, a 63 at the WGC-HSBC Champions, and rounds of 67, 63, 65 and 66 to win the FedEx St. Jude Classic.

Dustin also benefited from his accuracy off the tee and a stellar wedge game to get to this honor. As the 2018-2019 PGA Tour season gets underway, he looks to join Greg Norman, Tom Watson and Ben Hogan as three-time winners of this award.

© 2024 Dustin Johnson Foundation

Close Menu